Best way to virtualize manjaro?

I don't particularly like virtualization, therefore I'm not very good with it. Now I'm in a new situation, where I would like to run virtualized manjaro on Windows host for actual production work. I'm more familiar with virtualbox, but I also got a VMware workstation license from work.

So far both options have some issues:

VirtualBox:

• VMSVGA doesn't work with the guest utils in the repos, they need to be compiled manually to resize display
  • shared clipboard doesn't work
  • hot corners don't wotk unless I disable mouse integration (makes sense)
  • performance can be spotty
  • multiple monitors are a pain to setup on every boot (windows host issue)

VMware:

• cannot set the correct aspect ratio for my display. There is an option for it but it does not work I have to choose between wasting screen space with black bars and having stretched display
  • hot corners don't work and I haven't found a way to work around it
  • performance seems slightly better than with virtualbox

Does anyone have any opinions on virtualization or tips on improving the experience?

It should automatically resize to fit the size of the Window, you shouldn't need to set them manually. Do you have vmtoolsd.service enabled?

If so, try this fix: VMWare - Can't change screen resolution

That is interesting. It doesn't work for me either. It works on the sides but not the corners.

Depending on what you are doing, it can be significantly better.

I am a heavy VM user and vmware just works for me. At any given time I have 50 or so VMs on my workstation and usually 2-6 of them are running. vmware makes management of all that painless.

I have also played with QEMU but I couldn't get reasonable graphics performance on Windows without resorting to GPU passthrough. For Linux guests it worked fine though. It isn't something I would call simple though.