Boot Splash Screen in Manjaro

Manjaro should have a boot splash screen instead of having us set it up manually. Or at least have an option to remove it if the user doesn't want it. Looks weird every time I boot that I don't see anything displayed.

Strangely, my Manjaro has a funky Breath 2 splash screen and matching SDDM screen for authentication, by default.

I have not yet found any better alternatives, they're quite lovely.splash

I'm curious about how you installed Manjaro.

Opinion

Contradiction.

Your profile states I am a data center technician so you should be able to setup a boot splash if you want one.

3 Likes

He's referring to something like bootspash-systemd or Plymouth that displays after the vendor logo before anything like Plasma loads it's splash screen

1 Like

We have been looking into it.

1 Like

AFAIK there have been attempts to ship with a boot splash (plymouth or kernel's bootsplash), but being bleeding edge hasn't been kind to its stability...

1 Like

I'm not convinced it "should" have bootsplash screen.

I like going straight to the Manjaro Splash screen.

I like to see loading process it looks cooler then some picture!

1 Like

What I have stated was an opinion; true, and that is what this forum is for(?) Also, as Yochanan has stated, I did mean something like Plymouth or systemd-bootsplash. Would it not make sense to have a logo displayed much like every other operating system does now? And as I have stated, having an option somewhere in say, settings manager to disable it if the user chooses that s/he doesn't like the splash screen would also make sense. Just because I am a data center technician doesn't mean others in my family or my friends are. I am trying to get them into the Linux world too(you know, to promote the use of Linux to people that are naive about it) and having a splash screen at boot up is just a nicer feature that most consumers like.

1 Like