Brother MFC-7220 in Manjaro KDE @ 19/12/17

At time of writing, there is no PKGBUILD for the MFC-7220 that makes it fully functional in Manjaro, ie, Printer and Scanner. For DEB & RPM-based distros Brother provides an installation bash script [http://support.brother.com/g/b/downloadend.aspx?c=us&lang=en&prod=mfc7220_us_as&os=128&dlid=dlf006893_000&flang=4&type3=625] that facilitates both functions of the MFC, but this is not natively executable in Manjaro [as far as i know... EDIT / CORRECTION: I was wrong, it is possible. See later posts in this thread]. Initially i feared i'd need to create a custom PKGBUILD for it [daunting, given i don't know how to, yet; i'm still new to Manjaro]. However after some research in the Manjaro forum, & experimentation, + tricks i learnt in my previous distro, i realised that most of what is needed is already available in Manjaro. Having eventually succeeded today in fully enabling my MFC, i've synthesised the following summary of the methodology. In overview, resolving the printing is "easy", but resolving the scanning is "hard". I offer it here as a tutorial for any current or future Manjaroan with the same model MFC.

Printer Functionality [do these].

1. https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php?title=Printing_Enablement
  2. Install these, from AUR: brother-lpr-drivers-laser, brother-cups-wrapper-laser
  3. Configure the MFC per https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php?title=Printer_Configuration#CUPS_Desktop_Interface_Part_1:_The_Automatic_Method
  4. Downgrade cups-filters from 1.17.9-5 to 1.17.9-3 per Printer quit today after updating, CUPS "filter failed" . <<NB: this is TEMPORARY ONLY until the (apparently) buggy version in "[Stable Update] 2017-12-16 - Kernels, Mesa, Deepin, Firefox, Python, Haskell" is fixed>>

Scanner Functionality [do these].

1. Install these, from AUR: brscan2, brscan-skey
  2. Enable & Start the service;
   sudo systemctl enable brscan-skey.service
   sudo systemctl start brscan-skey.service