Can someone explain to me what these packages are and why they are orphaned all of a sudden?

As the title states. Please see pic under for more info and thanks a lot for your help :cowboy_hat_face:

Screenshot_20200713_213808

First. Please don't post screenshots of text output. That is against the rules here.

That being said, those look like build dependencies. Build dependencies are packages that are needed to build an AUR package but aren't needed any more once the package is built.

You can remove them but next time that package is updated they will probably be re-installed.

9 Likes

And in addition to what @dalto said, don't use -Syuu. Read...

man pacman

... to learn why.

5 Likes

'Nuff said.

2 Likes

Oh, I didn't know. My bad!

Guess there's no need to be alarmed, then :laughing:

I'm still quite new to Linux, so you have to pardon my ignorance. If I understood correctly, the -uu command I used downgrades packages? Which is why I should only use -u, right?

man

Was super-useful... is this command applicable to any input in the terminal?

2 Likes

Yes, most terminal commands will have a man page, some better written than others.

1 Like

You could also use 'cheat' which you'd have to install...
try 'man ls' and then 'cheat ls' and see if it's good.

Actually, they often even have more than one man page, addressing different aspects of the command (or system call). For details, see...

man man

:slight_smile:

There actually isnt much wrong with Syuu ..

In certain situation you may want to avoid it .. because of particulars to your system .. or similar.

But sometimes it is needed because of switching branches or because the devs decided to downgrade a package, or because the versioning is just funny.

The 2 u's just allows downgrading.