Committing to Manjaro Linux completely after a small journey

For around five years, I have known about Linux as a viable alternative to Windows. The knowledge for many years was primarily patchy. I used it on my HP laptop during university, four years ago. It wasn't Manjaro, though, it was Fedora and then later Ubuntu. I had a major problem with the wireless network adapter, as the adapter was of some obscure make and/or it didn't allow for drivers to be easily made for it. That's when I started learning a little bit about proprietary software versus FOSS. It still was an alien concept to me, for the most part, and I would just continue using Windows on my main desktop computer as a daily driver for years to come.

Then, yesteryear, I started getting progressively more interested in Linux once again. That was due to a multitude of factors. For one, I purchased a brand new computer worth over 1000€ to get my gaming groove on. How would that get me more interested in Linux? Well, the thing is that I purchased an SSD for the first time to put my operating system on. I thought my computer would be blazingly fast, then. It was not all that significantly faster. Faster, to be sure, but the results were underwhelming. Windows 10 seemed to need a massive amount of resources, and that would become more and more obvious as time went by.

Then I purchased a used Lenovo ThinkPad for a pretty reasonable price. I specifically picked the laptop to make sure all of its hardware component would be readily compatible with Linux. It didn't take me long to realize Lenovo ThinkPads are a revered line of hardware in the Linux community, so I didn't even hesitate in getting one.