Expand /home partition

Hello there Manjaro community, I'm rather new to Linux and definitely a noob when it comes to Arch/Manjaro. I played with Manjaro on Virtualbox and decided to install it along my Windows 10 (dual boot) using this guide: [HowTo] Dual-boot Manjaro - Windows 10 - Step by Step .
My installation process went smoothly and my Manjaro is running perfectly with no issues, and I'm loving my experience so far.
The only problem is that due to Manjaro being dual booted along Windows 10, I couldn't dedicate much space to it, since my NVME drive is only 256GB in size and I have a large Windows 10 install. Now I want to expand the /home partition because it has less than 100MB free now, which is annoying. My laptop has a 1TB HDD which is pretty free on space, and I want to know if there's any way I can use that space in my Manjaro. I will share any screenshots if needed, since I'm not sure what info is relevant as of now. Would appreciate it if someone helped my case.

Hi!
Well your question is nothing extraordinary.
If you like you can search for similar questions, maybe you find some suggestions which you will like and we won't need to write it for you again.
https://archived.forum.manjaro.org/search?q=home%20on%20hdd
The best one IMO is to mount the HDD on a special place like /media/data, move your folders with Documents, Pictures, Videos on it and symlink (search the meaning of this term, the command is ln -s) then to your ~/ (i.e. $HOME) folder.

3 Likes

You will find very useful advice in this thread... :arrow_down:

2 Likes

Thank you guys very much, I appreciate it. I will check out those threads, and hopefully resolve the issue. I will update this post with results.

2 Likes

my config :wink:

ls -lG ~      
total 244M
drwxr-xr-x  2 patrick 4,0K "03.06.2020 05:06" Desktop/
lrwxrwxrwx  1 patrick   28 "29.01.2019 17:57" Documents -> /home/Data/Patrick/Documents/
lrwxrwxrwx  1 patrick   25 "29.01.2019 17:57" Images -> /home/Data/Patrick/Images/