Has anyone used hardened malloc ? Pros and cons

I am new to Arch and looking for ways to make my Manjaro installation secure. One interesting topic that I came across in the Security Page in Arch Wiki is the recommendation of using hardened malloc.

Does it replace all malloc functions on the system with hardened malloc ?

So has anyone used it ? Does it provide any benefits ? Does it give you a performance hit ?

What are you thoughts on this ?

Depending on how new you are (You only mention Manjaro, not your background):

1. Seasoned Linux developer, wanting to become member of the Manjaro team and start testing by getting man to play nicely with hardened_malloc: Go for it! The Manjaro Team will welcome you!
  2. Manjaro user, doesn't even know that malloc() is memory allocation: Avoid it like the plague!

Oh, you're somewhere in-between? I'd advise it up to 1.1 and maybe 1.2, not for 1.3→1.9.

I wouldn't touch it with a 10-foot pole! (And I'm a 1.5 )

:innocent: :wink:

Well I am a developer but I am new to Linux. Is hardended_malloc needed to improve the security of your system ?

You mention that developers are using it. But my question is that is it needed if I want to secure my system ?

The reason I ask is because in comparison to Fedora which gives you certain security features enabled out of the box like SELinux. What does Manjaro give in this aspect ?

What do you mean by:

getting man to play nicely with hardened_malloc

You're a 1.6: Don't touch it with a 10 foot pole!

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

What is your threat model? Which threats do you hope to prevent with hardended_malloc?

2 Likes

Are you saying that for a normal user it is unnecessary to go through the trouble of hardened_malloc ? I mean is it overkill ?

As to threat model you can say the reason I want to do this is make all malloc operations as secure as possible. So that I don't have any buffer overflows or heap vulnerabilities. I don't even know whether I have ASLR on by default.