Hori Fighting Joytick used to work, now doesn't

Hello. I started to use a Hori Fighting stick for MAME, and everything went fine the first time around. I shut down my computer and let the joystick plugged in, then I came back later and now it doesn't work at all. The gamepad utility doesn't recognize it and neither do other emulators, for some reason though, lsusb knows it's there hori%20troubleshoot%201

I'm a beginner so I don't know how to remove the device, reinstall drivers etc. So I'd like some assistance with this issue.
Thanks.

Have you tried to unplug it and plug it back again with the system running ?

Yes, even rebooting the PC.
Tried sudo cat/dev/input/js0 to see if the live inputs get detected... and they do. There's literally no reason for the joystick to not work.

Have you tried different kernel?

Yes, had linux 5.3.12-1, tried with linux 4.19.85, still nothing.

Have you seen this

Also, did you used before the joyutils or linuxconsole or you used a different package ?
Now the image you posted was loaded, so this is strange to me ... what is that you wanted to achieve with this commands?

I searched for my problem and came across this stack page, but it was on ubuntu so it didn't work. I came from windows so my intention was to "delete the device", bad habits I guess.
Didn't try neither (joyutils or linuxconsole) I installed joyutils, run jstest and it registers everything:
troubleshooting-hori2
This is probably an anomaly, it really should be working...

Update: decided to hook a Dualshock 4 to see if the problem it's exclusive to the hori stick, and it isn't. The dualshock 4 doesn't get detectedby the emulators or the gamepad utility, but still appears when I uselsusb and jstest /dev/input/js0
It appears my computer has a problem with gamepads in general

Update:
Finally managed to get the Hori fightstick to work, probably my solution is dubious, but it's the only way I could make it work.