Hp envy iio sensor not detected

Hello,
I just bought an Hp envy x360 13" version laptop and unfortunately the screen will not rotate when the the laptop is turned.
I'm on the manjaro gnome on the 4.19 stable kernel.
I installed iio-sensor-proxy and it doesn't detect anything :frowning:

There's an issue opened at the github of the iio-sensor author:
I put his response:

lis3lv02d_joystick_enable() in drivers/misc/lis3lv02d/lis3lv02d.c will export the accelerometer data through an input device, which iio-sensor-proxy supports ( src/drv-input-accel.c ).

You'll want to check whether the kernel is correctly configured to export that input device, and whether you have a recent version of iio-sensor-proxy.

See also !173.

I'm a newbie I don't know how to check if the kernel is correctly configure.

thank you in advance

That is fine, keep it and try another kernel too: 5.1 and/or 5.2

Since his suggestion is "above my skill level" as you mentioned, the only reliable way would be to try another kernel, as suggested above, or wait till the kernel will receive that patch ...

1 Like

As far as I can see, I read about this last night until I had a brain bleed, linux419 supports it. It was included in arch upstream June 9th 2017. There is always the possibility I'm misreading these commits. Keep that in mind. :wink:

https://git.archlinux.org/linux.git/commit/?h=v5.2-arch2&id=2b96d66c205b23b55324118ff31905d7152cb1cc

Now, if you ask me what anything on that page means other than it was added?
SinisterBrain = clueless.

as I said, I read about this a lot last night and I'm still not sure how the heck to help.
I'm going to check out the other kernels @bogdancovaciu suggested after my coffee is ready and see what they might say regarding support. However, it's unlikely it isn't included if it was commited to linux419.
And it looks like it has continued to be added all the way up to linux52