Is there a notification system for Journalctl

Hello,

I am fairly new to Linux and decided a couple of months ago to use Manjaro as the OS of my choice.

The last couple of weeks I read a few articles about systemd and journalctl and realized how crucial it is to regularly look at the logs to effectively manage and maintain my system.

This leads me to constantly ask myself, if there is a more sane way to analyze logs. Specifically, I would expect a component to exist, which monitors journalctl and notifies me upon suspicious entries (i.e. about hardware or logon attempts), which require special attention.

While reading this forum and others I stumbled across The-Compiler/journalwatch, pentix/qjournalctl and other rather outdated projects. Isn't there a popular monitoring and notification system which is capable of aggregating log entries? In order to not miss them it would also be nice if it could e-mail me about incidents or at least use the XFCE notification system to pop them up.

My NAS has this capability (Synology), so I thought that it would be a really good idea to have something similar on my computers. Or am I missing something and is it perhaps a bad idea to work with logs in this way?

This level of intelligence is not yet accomplished by Artificial Intelligence.
Human is still more capable of PCs. This maybe a good thing for us.

The best you can do for now is check (yourself) this report (or study more about Linux/systemd)

journalctl -b -p3

For explanation/reasoning check the manual

man journalctl

Get prepared (I hope not, but..) for several answers joking. Don't listen to them! :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Would we pull anyone's leg? :smiley:

Basic principle, if it works, ignore the logs, if it doesn't...

1 Like

On ubuntu i have logwatch that send me a mail every day with a small report of what happend.

1 Like