KDE: ssh agent is not started on startup: 'Could not open a connection to your authentication agent'

Hello,

When you use ssh-add to add an ssh key you get the error: 'Could not open a connection to your authentication agent'. Which means you need to manually start the auth daemon to do any work with private git repos.

I encountered this bug with overwriting my Manjaro Cinnamon installs with Manjaro KDE with 18.1.0 and again with 18.1.2; on two separate machines.

How to reproduce:
Install KDE Edition 18.1.0 and higher.
Use ssh-add, even with no files in .ssh

(When it works it should either complain about not finding a file or add your ssh key.)

A workaround I found is to add an autostart to the user's systemd config:

$HOME/.config/systemd/user/ssh-agent.service

[Unit]
Description=SSH key agent

[Service]
Type=simple
Environment=SSH_AUTH_SOCK=%t/ssh-agent.socket
ExecStart=/usr/bin/ssh-agent -D -a $SSH_AUTH_SOCK

[Install]
WantedBy=default.target

I admit I am new to KDE, but I really believe this is something that should be working out of the box. I use a dotfile manager to configure my machines from a private repo so this is a unique issue I have not encountered on other distros.

The only post I have found related to this was below and no one commented on it.

That is strange, I have not had any issues with ssh myself.

On my system I have these installed:

• sshpass
  • ksshaskpass
  • lib32-libssh2
  • libssh
  • libssh2
  • openssh
  • sshfs

I typically use fish:// in dolphin, but I also use sshpass in scripts regularly.

Also what do you mean by:

Wipe the Manjaro Cinnamon partition and install Manjaro KDE in it's place.

I had earlier installed Manjaro KDE on smaller SSD with no problems with SSH, so it's a recent issue.

Could it possibly be some settings issue on you home partition coming from the cinnamon to Plasma5 access of your home partition?

PS. This is why I never recommend sharing your home partition, especially between distributions.