LightDM Failed to use bus name org.freedesktop.DisplayManager

Hello everyone! First time here, I am relatively new to Linux and I need your help.
I am currently running Manjaro KDE on a Surface pro 3 (Intel i7 with onboard graphics) and my clean install is barely a few days old.
I've been trying to get my device as touch-friendly as possible, which is why I have been trying to get LightDM running to use a virtual keyboard in my login screen. The current default dm is sddm.
However, following steps from arch wiki and manjaro wiki did not work for me. After being overly excited and disabling sddm before rebooting I had to go thorugh tty and all that fun to get my desktop environment back. I've tried both the KDE greeter and the gtk greeter. Whenever I run lightdm in test mode via

lightdm --test-mode

I get following output, although lightdm tells me to test without root:

code** (lightdm:3851): WARNING **: Error reading existing Xauthority: Failed to open file '/run/lightdm/root/:0': Permission denied

** (lightdm:3851): WARNING **: XServer 0: Failed to write authority: Failed to open X authority /run/lightdm/root/:0: Permission denied

** (lightdm:3851): WARNING **: Could not enumerate user data directory /var/lib/lightdm-data: Error opening directory '/var/lib/lightdm-data': Permission denied[/code]
Alright, looks to me like I need root. Running

sudo lightdm --test-mode --debug

however gives me following errors:

[+0.00s] DEBUG: Seat seat0: Creating greeter session
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Seat seat0: Creating display server of type x
[+0.01s] DEBUG: Could not run plymouth --ping: Failed to execute child process "plymouth" (No such file or directory)
[+0.01s] DEBUG: Using VT 7
[+0.01s] DEBUG: Seat seat0: Starting local X display on VT 7
[+0.01s] DEBUG: XServer 0: Logging to /var/log/lightdm/x-0.log
[+0.01s] DEBUG: XServer 0: Writing X server authority to /run/lightdm/root/:0
[+0.01s] DEBUG: XServer 0: Launching X Server