Linux at a new "high" usage

Garner at The Linux Gamer just posted this on lbry.tv (will be uploaded to YouTube soon enough), and Linux users are up to 3.6% market share on computers. This makes me happy even if the most popular distro is Ubuntu.
It is not that long ago when Linux had 3.17% market share, so this (might) be a very significant bump for Linux.
I, at least, am happy for these news.

1 Like

I would be great if it were true, but I'm going to have to press X to doubt. About a month ago, Lunduke made a good argument that this increase in desktop market share is an error in measurement:

1 Like

I'd cheer at new like this (if they were true) a few years ago (I'm relatively new to Linux, but have always enjoyed reading about it).

But I've come to realize that desktop market share is of almost no importance. Linux will always be here, it is too great and the market share is too huge on the server side for it to go into complete obscurity.

And it will always be ''desktop ready''. The point is that as a user I wasn't ''Linux ready''. I had brief run ins every fifth year or so since the year 2000, but all these efforts stranded on stuff like not being able to set screen resolution, hehe, it was just too alien.

But once you become ''Linux ready'', which is just a mental state, you're in for all the awesomeness, and boy it is a massive surprise!

As long as Linux functions like this, I have zero worries and don't give a second thought to desktop market share. It will always be here and receive active ''desktop'' development (as opposed to the business/server side of things), that's the important thing. The position now, with low market share and status as a more ''advanced'' OS might even be an advantage. It draws the best of those who are able to contribute to its development.

6 Likes

I couldn't care less.

Honestly, who cares about Linux market share? This is a very welcome topic for bloggers and youtubers to generate clicks but nothing else.

5 Likes