Manual partition

Hello Everyone, I'm new in Manjaro XFCE and in Linux Community. I have been using Windows 10 and now I want to get red of it and install Manjaro via Manual Partition.
I have 1TB of HDD (No SSD and 4GB RAM, UEFI Boot)
I need partition cuz:
1st: I want to store all my IDEs and Appliaction Softwares in one Drive(like C Drive)
2nd: I want to store all my works/PDFs(Like D Drive)
3rd: For VirtualBox testing and Multimedia(Like E Drive)
Or Can I just format the C Drive and install the OS !?(Srry fr this silly question
A small Suggestion/Help would be great.
Thanks in Advance.

Linux doesn't really have much of a concept of drive letters the same way as Windows does.

What, from your perspective, is the advantage of using separate partitions?

1 Like

When you use the standard graphical Manjaro installer, you can set up a separate /home partition. It is very easy to do, if I remember correctly it is just a point-and-click option.

This will be where you work will be stored, analogous to your D partition in Windows.

The root partition is created automatically in the graphic installer. This is analogous to you C partition in Windows. Most set it somewhere between 20 to 30, or even 35, gigabytes.

In wirualbox, you can specify where you want the default storage folder to be. This can be in /home, which is the default, or you can set it to another partition or another drive.

1 Like

C:\ drive is basically / (root partition) on Linux. It's where are the core of the system.
/home could be the My Documents folder where you images, videos, download, music are.
/boot/efi partition is needed if you're using UEFI. So, put at least 512 MB as fat32.
swap partition or swapfile could be needed depending on your usage, if you use hibernation, sleep mode, you may need a lot of swap, if you don't use it and use the basics, 4 GB, 2 GB of swap is pretty okay.