No Internet After Update

After updating my system the other day, I've had a couple issues. The primary issue is that my computer now does not detect any internet but my router detect's the ethernet and so does my computer. I suspect it may have something to do with NetworkManager(1.2.2) but I'm not sure where the problem is stemming from. The second issue is that my OS won't boot up in 4.4 and I have to load 3.16. I'm not good with troubleshooting as I havn't had any serious issues in the year and a half I've used Manjaro and this is my first linux distro. Thanks in advance for any help!

1 Like

Try to downgrade NetworkManager (if you haven't cleared your cache)

1>. cd /var/cache/pacman/pkg

2>. ls networkmanager*
This will give you a directory listing of all available networkmanager packages.

3>. Then as an example, use the last known working, my system is x86_64
sudo pacman -U /var/cache/pacman/pkg/networkmanager-1.2.0-3-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
Then reboot.

As for the kernel - don't know.

Blacklist networkmanager in /etc/pacman.conf in the ignorepkg section.

Also test your hardware with a live dvd, the one you installed from - does that connect to the internet OK?

You could also use sudo downgrade networkmanager in the terminal and it will give you a list of the older versions available (and download one if it's not in your cache). It will also ask if you want to prevent Network Manager from upgrading automatically (and change pacman.conf for you).

Unfortunately I have cleared my cache and I no longer have the USB I had installed from.

I don't have downgrade installed on my computer.

Any other suggestions on what I could do?

Next time use this tutorial to clear your cache:

You can download the 'downgrade' package from the Arch website (AUR section) and install it manually using Pamac. (Menu > Install local packages)

Downgrade will show you a list of local and remote packages of your software that are of an earlier version than you currently have installed.