NVIDIA Drivers Proprietary not working correctly (GTX 970)

Hi I am completely new to Linux and Manjaro, I decided to try it, and I have fall in love with the system how customizable it is, and how snappy it feels. After configuring and installing the programs that I want to be using, I want it to try to install the NVIDIA drivers, (I might install Steam in the future).

I have tried installing the drivers through the "Hardware configuration" in system settings and selecting "Auto install Proprietary Driver" this installs the nvidia 440xx drivers.

the problem I have is that when I restart the system, the graphical interface starts to bug out, the simple menu does not open some applications are laggy, and all the interface is just buggy.

I was wondering if I installed the drivers incorrectly (*Maybe there is a better way to install them), or the kernel version is not compatible, I heard that Linux works fine with games and graphic drivers nowadays. I am really excited to try this system and I am loving it so far. hopefully someone will be able to help me. I want to thank anyone in advance. I will leave my current system specs bellow:

Kernel: x86_64 Linux 5.7.0-3-MANJARO
CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K @ 8x 4.4GHz
GPU: NV124 ( Driver currently installed - nouveau)

GPU: Nvidia GTX 970 (My actual graphic card)

Hello :slightly_smiling_face:!
According to the information you gave us, something seems to have gone wrong with the driver installation. "nouveau" is actually the free-and-open-source, reverse engineered driver.
My first suggestion would be to clean install the nvidia driver via the command line.
In your case, you can use the following command:

sudo pacman -Syyu linux57-headers mhwd-nvidia-440xx linux57-nvidia-440xx nvidia-440xx-utils opencl-nvidia-440xx libvdpau lib32-libvdpau vdpauinfo vulkan-icd-loader lib32-vulkan-icd-loader lib32-nvidia-440xx-utils vulkan-tools

Once this completes, reboot your system. Check if it helped and report back.