Old Macbook: DE, brightness, power

Hey there,

Another newbie here :slight_smile:

I am trying Manjaro with deepin 15.11 (I just installed it through Architect) on a secondary partition on my old Macbook from 2013. I am somehow realizing is not the easiest setup (well, i first tried with KDE Plasma but I had not way of solving the Wifi drivers issue since I couldn't even tether through my smartphone, that's why I tried again with the architect).

I have been setting the whole system up and so far so good, but before going ahead I thought I would check with the community first: do you recommend following this path or should I consider to change the DE first of all and change it back after I am more comfortable with the whole system? Thanks!

Besides that I am noticing two additional issues with power management and brightness control. I have been looking around but haven't found any suitable solution, so I thought I could try here and start getting involved.

Power Management: it's an old macbook and I have it mistreated badly, but at full charge the remaining time prediction seems quite low (4h ish) against MacOS. I haven't installed or tweaked anything specifically in this regards. I have just checked the options under Control Center --> Power saving mode ON and setting up suspension timings. Is there a way to benchmark this against the other SO or even optimising it further?

Brightness: I've found two issues here, the hardware controls in F5 and F6 are not working at all and after any suspension the screen does not brighten up, it remains really dim as if the brightness had been set to the minimum. I can solve it manually going to Control Center and moving the slider for brightness control to any position but I don't think it's supposed to behave like this.

Thank you very much in advance for the advice! I am really enjoying the distro so far and I believe that this could be now a serious option for a full transition to linux.

Welcome another MacBook user!