Recommended IDE for C and HTML

Hello everybody,

can you tell me please which IDE you would recommend for C and HTML?

Greetings
C_K

PS: How can you add a tag that didn't exist yet?

I personally use vscode for pretty much everything (vala, golang, c#, python, javascript...).
Some alternatives (at least for C): gnome builder, codeblocks, atom

1 Like

For C i use "kdevelop". The best app of "KDE". But kernel development (modules etc.) not makeable with this IDE. If you want do this try "vi/vim" or "nano" in terminal.

And HTML i use the webbuilder of my hoster. But you can also give "Libreoffice" a chance.:shushing_face:

1 Like

Asking for recommending is quite subjective.

What suits e.g. my workflow may not suit yours.

If you are looking for something adding intellisense to your coding I can highly recommend CLion

Again for webcoding I use WebStorm

1 Like

Okay, maybe I should explain a little bit more :wink:
I'm just a student and want a free IDE. My first programming language was Java and now I want to start with C. For Java I liked IntelliJ very much.
Something for beginners and simple applications would be enough.

It is as subjective - There is no recommendation - just a lot of choices - which only you can make.

It all depends - but you probably know - source code is pure text.

The issue is - write all from memory and learn the hard way or choose IDE's which offers intellisense and can help you remember the available keywords, building blocks, syntax etc.

Already mentioned IDEs

• Code Blocks
  • Builder
  • Kdevelop

Other

• QT Creator
  • Anjuta
  • Eclipse
  • IntelliJ
  • Lazaruz

Editor:

• Vi(M)
  • Nano
  • Micro

GUI Editors

• Geany
  • Emacs
  • Atom
  • Visual Studio Code
4 Likes