rookie mistake - I selected the wrong keyboard layout on a new install

#tldr: I selected the wrong keyboard layout during install. Is there a way to use chroot, or just go through the M-A steps again with out actually doing the install and just selecting the correct keyboard layout of "US"?

First, I'm a total newb and had several fits just getting the install procedure correct, but after several failed attempts I definitely know more than when I started, but have a loooong way to go. Last night I finally completed the install using manjaro-architect and had a mini celebration as it booted up, only to be crushed again when I couldn't login, I kept getting the wrong password. Thinking I had somehow made the same typo twice when setting my user password I clicked on "other user" thinking maybe I could log in as root, where I realized my mistake, I selected "AM" as my keyboard layout, thinking it stood for "America" like in the locale setting... :grimacing::unamused: (it was late...).

Simple fix is to just reformat and re-do the install, and I may do that, but I thought hey, another learning opportunity, and chance to engage some of you awesome people who got me this far even though you don't know it, plus hopefully give some of you a laugh.

Is there a way to use chroot (command line syntax is still foreign to me) , or just go through the M-A steps again with out actually doing the install and just selecting the correct keyboard layout of "US"?

Thank you in advance!

ETA: I'm at work now and won't be able to work on this until tonight, or over the weekend. Thanks again!

1 Like

Refer SGS links and you can at your (normal) grub menu, type in these keyboard parameters so you can boot in to your OS. Then use the other link to setup your keyboard configuration. Keyboard configurations vary with diffferent DE, but localectl (and mhwd) will be the same throughout. Still best to also go through your DE settings.

2 Likes