[SOLVED] Manjaro and zfs?

Hey all,
I'm new to Manjaro. I have a machine that is currently running Mint that I'd like to switch over to manjaro. The only issue that I have is that the machine currently has three drives. One for the OS (not a vdev), and two that I use for storage configured as a raidz1. I don't have the data backed up, and it's not mission critical data, but I was really hoping to just avoid wiping it all, and just import the pool into Manjaro and continue to use it as a storage pool.

I went through the wiki before and just had a hard time getting zfs installed and working. I started googling and I ended up with conflicting instructions and whatnot. My google searches typically led me to responses on how to get manjaro installed ON the vdev. That's not what I want. I want manjaro on it's separate drive, and then to import my storage vdev after the fact. I guess I'm just looking for a couple clear answers/guidance.

1. Can I just install zfs once manjaro is installed and import my current vdev?
  2. If someone here has done this, could you post a quick little guide, as I found the wiki instructions to not work as intended.

Thanks,
-RYknow

2 Likes

I have zfs running on manjaro. Very easy. You just neeed to install the zfs packages from the manjaro repo. Dont forget to install the zfs-utils as well.

You also want to enable a few zfs related systemd services to autoimport your pool. I can not recall right now which those are. I can tell you when I am back home.

Ok, so I'm going to assume I missed something simple then. I'm new to pacman... and while I get that the commands are there (per the wiki), it's just different to me. haha. I'll give it another shot.

You need to have the zfs extramodules installed, linuxXX-zfs and linuxXX-spl.
From then, it should work quite easily.

Yes.

1. Install Manjaro
  2. pacman -S linux**-zfs
  3. zpool import poolname
1 Like

Here we go. This is what I have installed.