[solved] Virtualbox shared folder is empty (mount failed)

Hey, i'm new to linux and trying to realize a Dualboot (Windows 10 - Manjaro 18.0.4 Xfce) setup while also beeing able to start the Manjaro OS as a guest via VBox.

Doing some pretesting with a Manjaro guest i was able to mount a shared folder in "/media/sf_..." but the folder is empty and not reflecting/showing changes on either side (Host / Guest).

To set the shared folder up i followed the Tutorial. Other threads on this topic didnt help me to find a solution. Do you have any advice for me?

i'm not sure i fully understand your setup and expected result. let's see if i got it right.

you have a non-empty folder on your physical machine (host) running manjaro, something like ~/test for example. you're mounting this folder in virtualbox virtual machine (guest) settings and giving it a name, say, test. than, having installed guest additions on the guest manjaro and having made sure the user on the virtual machine is in the vboxusers group, you expect to see the contents of the shared folder in /media/sf_test folder on the virtual machine, and it's just not there, is that about it?

several quick questions:

1. have you restarted the guest manjaro after installing the guest additions?
  2. does the service vboxservice.service run on the guest machine? (systemctl status vboxservice)
  3. does the mount operation appear in the service log (journalctl -u vboxservice | grep automount) and is it marked successful?
  4. does the configured shared folder (/media/sf_test in out hypothetical scenario) appear at all on the guest system? (s -d /media/sf_*)
  5. does the ownership look good? should be root/vboxsf (ls -ld /media/sf_*)
  6. if it does, does your user have read/write acces to it? (touch /media/sf_test/test.txt && ls -l /media/sf_test/test.txt)

p.s. welcome to the forum :wink:

1 Like

Hey @tivasyk,
Right now my setup is a Windows10 Host and Manjaro Guest and i am just trying to get SF working for now.