Terrible Sound Quality on Manjaro KDE (ASUS N551JW)

Hello guys,

I'm new to Manjaro and I'm having some trouble with my speakers.

Some high frequency sounds in songs at high volume vibrates (sort of) my notebook and it causes terrible noise.

Although I have improved the quality a bit with Pulseaudio configurations but this problem still remains.

My notebook is ASUS N551JW. There was a subwoofer with it but I was using it occasionally when my primary OS was Windows 10. Manjaro doesn't recognize that subwoofer. The sound quality was pretty good when using Windows 10.

Has anyone run into the same problem? Thanks.

I shared this issue also in reddit. Here is the link:

System Info:
manjaro

1 Like

the default audio settings dont really sound that great, a simple and really good EQ makes a big difference. pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa has a bunch of presets, there are other more complex ones but im never able to match the sound i get with the ladspa eq.

for your 2.1 speaker setup (2 speakers and a tiny sub) to work, open pavucontrol go to the configuration tab and select "2.1 analog stereo" (something like that)

1 Like

Thanks for your reply.
Tweaking settings with pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa just makes sound even worse.

does this happen with other distro's/DE's/windoze?

nm.

nice hint, it worked for my laptop's crappy speakers. I tried playing some stuff on youtube and found the better option for my setup is the Perfect EQ setting. The other bass and treble options make it either too tinny or blown out with distortion. I'll still use headphones (I have BOSE QC25 so may try the QC35 profile and see if there's any difference) for some stuff but being able to hear the odd video now and again and system sounds better will be nice.