Text to speech for Manjaro. Like we have David and Zira voice in Windows 10.

I'm new to Linux world and trying to figure out the all the necessary packages that i may need for python programming. One of them is Speech recognition and Text-to-speech. In windows 10 I'd Microsoft's David and Zira voice to use it for TTS but in linux I didn't find any but espeak which is not understandable and accurate. Suggest me some good TTS for Manjaro and instruction on how to get it to work with python. Any help will be appreciated.

Thank you!

The best free TTS engine is probably eSpeak-NG.

Although I have no idea how to actually get it working.

1 Like

No open source TTS engine is as good as the commercial stuff. However, Festival is fairly good.

You can

K = "Listen up!"
os.system('echo %s | festival --tts' % K)

in python, which is inelegant, but it works.

2 Likes

orca can provide a set of options trough Settings > Accessibility > Screen Reader tab once is installed.

For me the best text to speech is svox-pico. It is available in AUR. You can also look for PicoTTS on the net.

How to install it via command line?

Uhm.. you don't, really.

Use "Add/Remove Software" in your menu (or start pamac-manager from the command line), and make sure you have AUR enabled in the settings:
pamac-manager settings

Then search for "svox" and there you have it. Click on the Build-button, and hopefully all goes well :slight_smile:

:fireworks: :fireworks: :fireworks: Welcome to the Manjaro forum :fireworks: :fireworks: :fireworks:

1 Like

@Kartik: If you want to use svox-pico with Orca, you must modify the following file:

/etc/speech-dispatcher/speechd.conf with the following command line: sudo nano /etc/speech-dispatcher/speechd.conf

Then change the following lines:

DefaultModule espeak-ng --> DefaultModule pico-generic
Uncomment the line: AddModule "pico-generic" "sd_generic" "pico_generic.conf"
LanguageDefaultModule "en" "pico-generic"