trying out i3 from xfce.

So... looking through a few of the i3 'issues' here and etc. just wanted some clarification or input from the i3 people.

I've been running the XFCE community edition but like a few users have found I spend more time on the keyboard than clicking around, and as such have been tinkering with i3 gaps which I installed via the official packages.

I've begun to think however that as a second DE it isn't really suitable because its design paradigm means it wants to set certain things in a way that slightly conflicts with XFCE.

While I am pretty new to i3 and all the tinkering I do like it. So my question here is:

Will it make my life easier if I ditch XFCE entirely, and focus on configuring i3 to my exact liking? Or can the two DE's live happily side by side?

Im just gonna post this here .. pretty i3 with xfce

okay, thanks. I skimmed through it - some useful stuff in there - but I'm trying to avoid 'workarounds' etc.

I'm not wedded to XFCE it just happens to be what I chose when I switched to Manjaro. But I can happily live without lots of widgets and buttons - most of those either get in the way, break periodically, or can't be configured to one's exact liking.

Give me simple, plain, configurable any day.

Install a vanilla i3 ISO to a VM and see if you like it.

I used XFCE for a long time, and i3 intrigued me. So I did a side-by-side install. Worked good, even with a couple of software issues (little known/used). Got them solved with some help here.

Decided to go all-in with i3, and did a clean install. No regrets at all.

I use i3 as WM for MATE and it works quite nicely:

Don't see why it wouldn't work for Xfce too.

1 Like

very interesting. Thank you.