Trying to install Manjaro on external hdd with Legacy Hw (no UEFI) - Nvidia GTX 970

Hi guys, I'm new to Manjaro but pretty advanced in Linux Knowledge. I'm trying to install Manjaro on an external hdd, but it doesn't boot. The USB Installer was made in Rufus 3.8, and I noticed that it makes 3 partitisions on the USB, that Windows 10 detects as not formatted, EFI partition and not formatted; but the installer works. I tried to install Manjaro manually, by partitioning by myself and assigning the boot flags, and tried to install it via the erase disk option with the linuxswap with hibernation. The bootloader location is installed on the External HDD, but it doesn't boot when I select it from the Boot Menu.

I'm on a Legacy System, so no UEFI.

Thanks in advance!

:+1: Welcome to Manjaro! :+1:

As you're proficient with Linux, just asking for the info we need to help you further:

inxi --full --verbosity=7 --filter
sudo parted --list

:wink: :innocent:

1 Like

Your key was created just fine, it should have 3 partitions on it for UEFI. As for your boot problem you created a UEFI live key in Rufus when you should of created a MBR live key in Rufus since your bios is legacy / MBR. Since it looks like you are giving Manjaro the entire drive once you have your key created correctly once you get to the partitioning section of the install just choose that drive and let Manjaro setup the partitions, Hope that helps.

1 Like

You can of skip the encryption part - the guide is primarily targeted removal devices - how to install with hybrid boot.

1. partition is a ISO9660 with a Linux filesystem - Windows cannot read other filesystems
  2. partition is EFI loader
  3. partittion is not really a partition - but the remaining space.

Rufus doesn't make change anything when I select the Manjaro ISO file and the default options seems OK for my system, since it locks down in MBR partition scheme and as target system BIOS or UEFI. Other solutions?

rufus

EDIT1: