VFIO script and Permission Denied.

I am new to Linux let alone Manjaro, but I've been scratching my head at this one after looking around a fair bit.

Been following this guide for GPU passthrough: https://thereisnospoon.ews-network.net/posts/manjaro-win10-gpu-passthrough/

Created a brand new installation of Manjaro and then got to it. I have identical GPUs (RX 580's) so I got to play with all that; figured out the card I want to pass through has its own IOMMU group and could be listed as 0000:09:00.0 and 0000:09:00.1 for its audio respectively.

So after going through the brief steps in the guide above, on reboot, I can't get past the boot screen with the error:

sh /usr/bin/vfio-pci-override.sh Permission Denied

I had already assumed it was a permission issue since some threads here mention .sh file and permission problems, so I went into a Live USB, manjaro-chroot -a'd my inaccessible Manjaro install, and then chmod 777'd the script in question (I'd make it reasonable after I ascertained it worked)-- ls -l'd it, all looks good.

Rebooted.

Permission still denied. I even tried chown'ing it so my user and group owned it and it still gave the same error.

IOMMU and virtualization are all enabled, this seems to be the last step to getting this setup functional but I'm not certain where to go from here. I'd appreciate any advice.

Contents of the .sh in case that's showing a red flag I'm not privy to:

#!/bin/sh

DEVS="0000:09:00.0 0000:09:00.1"

if [ ! -z "$(ls -A /sys/class/iommu)" ]; then
for DEV in $DEVS; do
echo "vfio-pci" > /sys/bus/pci/devices/$DEV/driver_override
done
fi
modprobe -i vfio-pci

itt Fresh Manjaro XFCE install (with all pertinent updates ran), above guide are only changes made. Script permission error despite seemingly having permissions.