Video freezes and audio stutters (SMPlayer and Firefox)

Hi everyone, I'm new to Manjaro and have been on a learning curve since I installed Manjaro KDE this past week end.

Pretty much everything works on my 10 years old hardware, compliments to the developers for creating a great system.

I have only two problems which I can't quite find solution for, this is the first one: whenever I play movie files on SMPlayer (mpv engine) and whenever I watch videos in Firefox, the video often freezes and the audio stutters (repeats the same word or sentence in a loop). If I move the mouse the problem stops. There is no strict regularity to these glitches but they do happen too often to be ignored.

In SMPlayer, mpv engine is set to default video and audio output (I have no idea what the other available settings mean and research only led to articles which appear to deal with hardware that is much more recent than mine.

Can anyone suggest ways to get videos to play without freezing and stuttering? I attach my hardware profile.

Thanks all in advance and stay safe

'''
System: Kernel: 5.6.16-1-MANJARO x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 10.1.0
parameters: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-5.6-x86_64 root=UUID=40a745aa-efbe-48d4-b243-a1e764f428bf rw quiet
apparmor=1 security=apparmor udev.log_priority=3
Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.18.5 tk: Qt 5.15.0 wm: kwin_x11 dm: SDDM Distro: Manjaro Linux
Machine: Type: Desktop Mobo: Gigabyte model: GA-890XA-UD3 serial: BIOS: Award v: F2 date: 03/04/2010
CPU: Topology: Quad Core model: AMD Phenom II X4 965 bits: 64 type: MCP arch: K10 family: 10 (16) model-id: 4
stepping: 3 microcode: 10000C8 L2 cache: 2048 KiB
flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4a svm bogomips: 27334
Speed: 2200 MHz min/max: 800/3400 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 2200 2: 800 3: 800 4: 800
Vulnerabilities: Type: itlb_multihit status: Not affected
Type: l1tf status: Not affected
Type: mds status: Not affected
Type: meltdown status: Not affected
Type: spec_store_bypass status: Not affected