VIM3 eMMC

Forgive me if this overlaps prior posts. I have a VIM3 and Manjaro is running fairly well. I would love to see an image for eMMC. I've seen others start threads, mention they may have gotten one up and working, but the posts kind of trail off.

I'm really annoyed with my experience with Ubuntu on VIM3 as after initial flash comes up, an apt upgrade bricks it. This leads me to the belief that uboot is kind of like an ARM grub that needs to be pointed to the kernel and version.

Coming from the Manjaro world back to Ubuntu and then learning you can't even run a single upgrade is like going from a smooth airplane ride into a nosedive of locked in place. So I wonder:
1: Can we get a Manjaro instance on the Khadas repository that their flash tool will allow?
2: Can we get vim-uboot into the development branch to pull and match with kernel updates?

I am not a talented developer, but I do think we can discuss actions needed to make this happen.

Hello and welcome to the forum,

Sorry for not reading your post earlier as I have missed many post lately.
Currently you can run Manjaro from SD Card when you have android installed in your emmc, Using the existing uboot in emmc you can just flash manjaro on emmc which will still use android uboot on emmc while running manjaro from the emmc too.
This can be achieved by running a script which in install the boot directory. file name is install-aml-emmc.sh

Try the following steps:
Step 1: Flash Latest Android on Emmc using their burning tool.
Step 2: Flash Latest Manjaro Vim3 image on sd card and rename u-boot.sd to u-boot.extinside boot partition called BOOT_MNJRO
Step 3: Enable Multi-Boot by pressing Function key 3 times while sd card is inserted. This will boot into Manjaro on sd card.
Step 4: Test if everything is working on it and then Upgrade to latest packages using Pamac Software update or command line sudo pacman -Syyu
Step 5: Run install script sudo ./boot/install-aml-emmc.sh