VirtualBox going crazy

I did an arch guest install on my newly installed virtual box but I have noticed very weird behavior and I dont know the root cause of such a behaviour but hear me out,
So installed arch and then after restarting installed the xfce DE but then after shutting down and restarting the VBox it often stucks at the VirtualBox (Bootup screen) for reasons unkown to me. Sometimes it fires up everything just fine on its own and sometimes it just stays there at Bootup screen can anyone tell me whats wrong here. I have used VBox before in Mint 19.3 and never encountered any problems there and I am still a noob trying to get more friendly with the new OS experience.

We can only speculate, as we have no remote omniscience :slight_smile:
Make sure you set the Display of your guest like this:

Also make sure your host system is fully updated and rebooted after that.

On your Arch guest install you also need to have the system fully updated and virtualbox-guest-utils package installed.

Did you set the guest as an EFI like this?

Try to disable EFI and see if it passes to GRUB menu ...

Those sound more like issues with your Arch install than issues with Virtualbox itself.

By default, Virtualbox 6.x uses emulated vmware video so ensure you have xf86-video-vmware installed.

Other than that, you need to troubleshoot it from within your Arch install.

Just tried disabling the EFI option, the screen flashes

FATAL: No bootable medium found! System halted

Well.....if you did a UEFI install, switching EFI off will break things.

How did you install Arch? Is this an old VM or did you do a clean install?

1 Like

You did a EFI GPT install, so enable EFI back to have it bootable.
On my end it works as i showed in the screenshots, with no issues.

I did an EFI GPT install and this is a fresh install.