What's your story with Xfce?

I started using Xfce years ago because I had a very cheap and weak laptop, for which even Cinnamon was too heavy. LXDE worked a bit better, but at that time it was too ugly for me and I preferred a bit heavier Xfce (although I must admit that LXQt in Lubuntu 20.04 properly configured does not look so bad – my girlfriend uses it on a weak netbook). I used Xfce first on Xubuntu and then on Linux Mint.

Later, when I bought myself a laptop with a decent specification (i5-8250U, 8GB of RAM, SSD), I was so happy to finally be able to use heavier DEs, that were previously out of my reach. I've been testing different distributions with GNOME 3 for several months, but unfortunately, although I like some great solutions, this DE has too many weird bugs, that spoil the whole experience in random moments. Cinnamon works great, but I rejected it for some reasons. KDE, although really lightweight these days, is poorly designed – the typography is awful, the different elements do not fit together, as if they were created by teams of programmers who cannot communicate with each other. Besides, whatever you click, a ridiculous number of settings appear. I respect the work of team behind KDE, especially since it is a very popular choice among Linux users, but for me it is too messy.

So even though every distro and every DE will work on my current laptop, I went back to Xfce (Manjaro Xfce, to be specific). It turned out that I fell in love with how light, simple and stable the Xfce is, so much that I prefer them to more fancy DEs. Xfce is great if you just want to start the computer and get things done.